UNC School of Medicine celebrates student research

More than 100 students from the UNC School of Medicine participated in 46th annual Student Research Day this winter; each of them was inducted into the John B. Graham Medical Student Research Society, which was established in 1987 to recognize and promote the research efforts of the student body.

Most students presented posters in the lobbies of UNC Hospitals. Others gave brief presentations at various School of Medicine locations.

At the end of the day, judges presented several students with awards.

Pillsbury Award recipients:

Basic science oral presentation: Andrew Morgan
Basic science poster presentation: Kimmy Vuong

Clinical science oral presentation: Caitlin Burk
Clinical science poster presentation: Alex Finch

Public health oral presentation: Shivani Sud
Public health poster presentation: Lindsey Buckingham.

The Harold C. Pillsbury Student Research Awards are made possible through a gift from Dr. Pillsbury, Chair of the UNC Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery, faculty sponsor for the John B. Graham Student Research Society, and mentor for medical students.

Kuno Award recipients:

Alex Gertner

Friends of Michiko Kuno established this award to honor her kindness and zest for life. She was the wife of former UNC neuroscientist Motoy Kuno. Their son Ritsu graduated from the UNC School of Medicine in 1988.

Case Reports winners:

Oral presentation: Romin Bonakdar
Poster presentation: Jenny Shen

Find out more about the John B. Graham Medical Student Research Society.

Share This: