Jensen delivers Whitehead Lecture

Brian Jensen, MD, assistant professor of medicine and pharmacology, delivered the 2017 Whitehead Lecture. The event, which serves as an unofficial convocation of the UNC School of Medicine, has been held annually since 1947.

Jensen delivers Whitehead Lecture click to enlarge Brian Jensen poses with Whitehead Medical Society presidents Patrick Snyder and Chris Iskander (Photo by Brian Strickland)

Brian Jensen, MD, offered reflections on patience during the 2017 Whitehead Lecture. Jensen, a UNC School of Medicine graduate, said he was  "deeply honored" to be selected as this year’s Whitehead Lecturer.

"I am a proud alumnus of the UNC School of Medicine and count many of the previous Whitehead speakers among the most formative educators and role models of my time as a student here," said Jensen. "I genuinely am stunned to have my name added to a list that includes Drs. Bill Blythe, Harvey Hamrick, Steve Kiser, Alan Cross and others."

During his speech, “Patience is a Prickly Virtue: Playing the Long Game in the Instagram Age,” Jensen examined the respective etymologies of patient, both the adjective and noun forms. Discussing the concept of Patient-Centered Care, Jensen encouraged the crowd to practice “Patience-Centered Care.”

“Be patient with each other, be patient with us, but above all, be patient with yourselves,” Jensen said.

Following Jensen’s remarks, several faculty and student awards were presented.

A full list of winners:

Faculty Awards:

The Hyman L. Battle Distinguished Excellence in Teaching Award in the Clinical Sciences:

Amir Barzin, DO, MS, Assistant Professor, Director, Family Medicine Inpatient Services

Best Application Phase Block Award:

Hospital, Interventional, and Surgical Care: Kathleen Barnhouse, MD, Anthony Charles, MD, MPH, Jennifer Howell, MD, Christopher Klipstein, MD

Outstanding AHEC Faculty Award:

Robyn Latessa, Department of Family Medicine, Mountain Area Health Education Center, Asheville

George T. Wolff Award:

Michele Birch, MD, Director of Academic Services, Department of Family Medicine, Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte

Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Awards:

Family Medicine: Brian Antono, Eli Tiller

Neurology: Jason Richards

Pediatrics: Christian Lawrence, Sonia Patel-Nguyen

Surgery: Everett Warren, Michael Williford

Internal Medicine: Matthew Waters, Sonia Patel-Nguyen

Obstetrics/Gynecology: Susan Dalton, Kate Miele

Psychiatry: Anna Steffan, Neil Naik

The Hyman Battle Distinguished Excellence in Teaching Award in the Foundation Phase:

Brian Jensen, MD, Departments of Medicine and Pharmacology, Deepa Kirk, MD, Department of Medicine

The Foundation Phase Outstanding Director Teaching Award:

Susan Hadler, MD, MS, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

The Foundation Phase Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award:

William F. Pendergraft III, MD, PhD, Department of Medicine

Best Foundation Phase Coil Award:

Anatomy Coil

Student Awards:

Brett Pearce and Lauren K. Brown Memorial Award:

Benjamin Frush

Heusner Pupil Award:

Eric Tran

Frank Lee Dameron Award:

Ray Antonelli, Michael Roper-Cartier

James A Bryan II Award:

Celeste Brown

William deB. MacNider Award:

Yuosef Abu-Salha

Luma Essaid

Lucius Blanchard Carolina Family Loyalty Fund:

Stephanie Corder, Zachary Fisher, Timelie Horne

Alan W. Cross Social Medicine Paper Award:

Constance Morrison


Share This:
Filed under: