2009 Faculty Mentoring Award

Nominations due Jan. 28, 2009. Each winner will receive $5,000.

The Carolina Women's Leadership Council has generously provided funding for annual faculty mentoring awards at the University.

The 130-member Women's Leadership Council is a network of women from across the country who are committed to supporting the University and students' educational experiences. Along with providing financial support, members volunteer their time and share their expertise, as well as champion Carolina in their regions and serve on boards that further the University's mission. The council is co-chaired by Mary Anne Dickson '63, Molly Dewar Froelich '83 and Julia Sprunt Grumbles '75.

The Faculty Mentoring Awards sponsored by the Carolina Women's Leadership Council recognize outstanding men and women faculty members who go the extra mile to guide, mentor and lead students and/or junior faculty as they make important career decisions, embark on innovative research and teaching initiatives, prepare for leadership positions, and enrich their lives through public service, teaching and meaningful educational opportunities. These awards will honor faculty-to-student mentoring and faculty-to-faculty mentoring, with one award given in each category. Each recipient will receive $5,000.

All tenured and tenure-track faculty are eligible for this award, as are fixed-term faculty who have been at Carolina for at least three years. Visiting faculty are not eligible. Nominations may be submitted by anyone from the Carolina family, including current and former faculty, staff, and students.

Please note you will be asked to provide three separate attachments (please use Microsoft Word) consisting of the following:

1. Brief (one-paragraph) statement of rationale for nomination.

2. Narrative description -- not to exceed two pages -- of the extent, type and character of the mentoring provided by the nominee.

3. Nominee's curriculum vitae.

Nominations should be electronically submitted by visiting: http://www.unc.edu/pcgi-bin/WLCMA_viewapp.pl and must be received by Jan. 28, 2009.

A selection committee appointed by the provost will review and recommend the award recipients. This committee will include representatives from the faculty, the student body, the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, and the Carolina Women's Leadership Council.

Selections will be made in mid-February 2009, with awards presented to winners at the annual meeting of the Carolina Women's Leadership Council, which will be held Feb. 26-27, 2009.

For more information about the Faculty Mentoring Award sponsored by the Carolina Women's Leadership Council, contact Carol Tresolini, Associate Provost for Academic Initiatives, at 962-3907 or Carol_Tresolini@unc.edu

To learn more about the Women's Leadership Council, contact Lanier Brown May in the Office of University Development at 843-5883 or
lanier_may@unc.edu or visit http://giving.unc.edu/women/index.htm