Community Award Nominations Now Open

The Employee Forum is accepting nominations for its Community Award from now through Dec. 9.

Purpose:  The Employee Forum Community Award (also known as the Three-Legged Stool Award) is designed to recognize distinguished contributions by individuals who work to promote cooperation and collaboration among faculty, staff and students.  The Three-Legged Stool Award is the Employee Forum's highest honor.

Eligibility:  Any member of the faculty, staff or student body of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is eligible.  (Current members of the Employee Forum Executive Committee are not eligible.)

Criteria for nomination:  Nominees should be individuals who inspire creativity; promote harmony and partnerships within the University community; inspire teamwork, cooperation and participation; demonstrate new approaches to current processes; encourage, mentor and build bridges; form alliances to work collectively; or demonstrate any other significant community-building activities.

Administration:  Nominations (not to exceed 250 words) will be accepted from any member of the University community.  When submitting nominations, please include the name of the nominee, how to contact the nominee (campus address, phone, CB# , or e-mail address), your name and contact information, and the specific reasons you are nominating this individual.

Previous winners include James Peacock, Paul Hardin, Rachel Windham, Elson Floyd, Laurie Charest, Jack Evans, Linwood Futrelle, Susan Ehringhaus, Tommy Womble, Eric Mlyn, Archie Ervin, and Willis Brooks.

No official nomination form is required.

Nominations should be submitted before Dec. 9, 2008, to:

Tommy Griffin, Executive Committee Chair
Employee Forum Office
CB# 3488   Campus Mail

or sent via e-mail to with the heading "Community Award."