Thoracic surgery directors' group renames Best Resident Paper Award to honor Wilcox

Benson Wilcox, MD, professor of surgery in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, was president of the Thoracic Surgery Directors Association.

The Thoracic Surgery Directors Association has renamed its Resident Award the Benson Wilcox Award for Best Resident Paper in honor of Benson R. Wilcox, M.D., former president of the TSDA. Dr. Wilcox is a professor of surgery at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is emeritus chief of the UNC Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery.

The Best Resident Paper award is presented annually at The Society of Thoracic Surgeons' annual meeting for the best scientific abstract submitted by a cardiothoracic surgery resident.

TSDA is a group of doctors who are directors of cardiothoracic surgery residency programs across the United States. Dr. Wilcox was instrumental in establishing TSDA and drafting the association’s bylaws. Dr. Wilcox, a heart surgeon, is a longtime leader in cardiothoracic surgery education and was TSDA’s first secretary/treasurer from 1977-1980. He also served as president-elect from 1983-1984 and as president from 1985-1986. TSDA, was formed to improve cardiothoracic surgery education.

Original here.