Mackman to deliver Sol Sherry Distinguished Lecture in Thrombosis

Nigel Mackman, Ph.D., will deliver the Sol Sherry Distinguished Lecture in Thrombosis at the 2009 American Heart Association’s (AHA) Scientific Sessions in November.

Dr. Mackman, will present one of three named lectureships sponsored by the Council for Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (ATVB).

Dr. Mackman is a John Parker Distinguished Professor of Medicine in the division of hematology/oncology, in the department of medicine. He is also  co-director of the Thrombosis and Hemostasis Program. Dr. Mackman established a Duke/UNC clotters club and obtained three R01 grants from National Institute of Health (NIH) and one grant from the University Cancer Research Fund (UCRF). He was recognized in 2007 by the International Society of Thrombosis and Hemostasis for his contributions to hemostasis research.

The Sol Sherry Lectureship honors the founder of the original AHA Council on Thrombosis. Dr. Sherry led a task force of the National Academy of Science’s National Research Council, which developed a plan to bring attention to this disorder, resulting in a national conference on thrombosis and a major book encompassing this field; the establishment of the International Society of Thrombosis and Haemostasis; the creation of Specialized Centers of Thrombosis Research by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; and the formation of the Council on Thrombosis. Learn more about the Sol Sherry Lectureship and view a list of past honorees here.