Fourth-year medical students inducted in medical honors society

Recently, 18 fourth-year medical students were inducted into the national medical honors society, Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA).

The newest members from UNC are:

Timothy Ivan Alves
Sarah Bass Carroll
Kristine Donna Folkerts
Kari Ema Hacker
Kirk Anderson James
David Colin Johnson
Benjamin Joseph Kittinger
Claire Kathryn Larson
Anna Coke McDonald
Hafiz S. Patwa
Suzanne Bryan Rhodes
Emily Fraser Roemer
Jessica Marian Saricicek
Jenna Coppola Searcy
Allison Elizabeth Serra
Kristopher Joel Swiger
Matthew Adam Triplette
Jonathan Franklin Wells

AOA was founded in 1902. The society's mission is to be dedicated to the belief that in the profession of medicine we will improve care for all by:

  • recognizing high educational achievement
  • honoring gifted teaching
  • encouraging the development of leaders in academia and the community
  • supporting the ideals of humanism
  • promoting service to others.

Election to Alpha Omega Alpha is an honor signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism, and service. A lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician's dedication to the profession and art of healing. Congratulations to these students!


Filed under: , ,