Call for nominations: 2010 Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture

The selection committee for the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture seeks nominations for the 2010 lecturer.

The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture is our annual convocation. It is a time when we reflect upon our School’s splendid heritage of collegiality and excellence, to which Norma Berryhill contributed so much. It is also the occasion on which we welcome our newest faculty members.

Previous lecturers are:

1985    John B. Graham, MD (Pathology)
1986    G. Philip Manire, PhD (Microbiology)
1987    Floyd W. Denny, MD (Pediatrics)
1988    Mary Ellen Jones, PhD (Biochemistry)
1989    Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD (Surgery)
1990    Carl W. Gottschalk, MD (Medicine)
1991    William B. Blythe, MD (Medicine)
1992    George Johnson, Jr., MD (Surgery)
1993    Stuart Bondurant, MD (Medicine)
1994    Judson J. Van Wyk, MD (Pediatrics)
1995    Christopher C. Fordham III, MD (Medicine)
1996    Frank C. Wilson, MD (Surgery)
1997    Joseph S. Pagano, MD (Medicine)
1998    Joe W. Grisham, MD (Pathology)
1999    P. Frederick Sparling, MD (Medicine)
2000    George F. Sheldon, MD (Surgery)
2001    Edward A. Norfleet, MD (Anesthesiology)
2002    Oliver Smithies, MA, DPhil (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2003    Harold R. Roberts, MD (Medicine & Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2004    Philip A. Bromberg, MD (Medicine)
2005    Joel E. Tepper, MD (Radiation Oncology)
2006    Robert C. Cefalo, MD, PhD (Obstetrics & Gynecology)
2007    H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (Medicine)
2008    Richard C. Boucher, Jr., MD (Medicine)
2009    Jeffrey L. Houpt, MD (Dean Emeritus &

Please submit your nominations to the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture Selection Committee in hard copy format (CB #7000) or via email to Marie Mitchell ( in the Dean’s Office, School of Medicine, by Wednesday, April 21, 2010.


M. Andrew Greganti, MD, Committee Chair
David Anderson, President, UNC Medical Foundation
James M. Anderson, MD, PhD
Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD
Elizabeth Dreesen, MD, FACS
James P. Evans, MD, PhD
James R. Harper, MD
Terry Magnuson, PhD

The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lectureship

The Dean and Advisory Committee of the School of Medicine established the Norma Berryhill Lectureship in September 1984.  The Lectureship has two essential components:  (1) a Lecture to be given annually by a tenured or tenure track member of the faculty of the Medical School; and (2) a convocation of the Medical School to be held at the time of the Lecture and at which new faculty members will be recognized.

The aims of the Lectureship are twofold.  First, the selection of the Norma Berryhill Lecturer is meant to honor a member of the faculty whose accomplishments have added distinction to the Medical School.

Second, the convocation is intended to further a sense of community within the Medical School.  Because Mrs. Berryhill was a major factor in developing this sense, the Lectureship was named in her honor.

Criteria for Selection of the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer

The Lecturer shall be an actively employed member of the faculty of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill at the time of selection. Fully retired faculty and recently appointed faculty who have not arrived in Chapel Hill are not eligible.

1. Nominations for the Lecturer shall come from individual faculty members and alumni. Departmental, divisional, or other corporate nominations will not be accepted.

2. Nominees should have made distinguished contributions to the stature of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

3. The Committee requests that you send the name (s) of your nominee(s) with your reasons for the nomination stated briefly. The Committee will be responsible for obtaining other supporting materials, such as curriculum vitae, etc.