2011 Whitehead Medical Society Student Awards

Medical students vote for their classmates for a variety of awards honoring academic excellence, compassion, and commitment to ideals.

The Brett J. Pearce and Lauren K. Brown Memorial Award
Brett and Lauren were treasured classmates who through their strength of character and courage in the face of illness have inspired those who had the privilege of knowing them to be better people and better doctors.  In their memory, this award was created by the Class of 2004 to honor a senior medical student who shares their qualities of generosity and compassion for those in need, dedication to service, and unwavering commitment to high ideals.  This senior, nominated and chosen by classmates, has made a significant contribution to the education and personal growth of his or her peers.

Will Stone

Heusner Pupil Award
Rising fourth-year medical students are nominated by classmates for this award, established in 1964 by friends of Dr. A. Price Heusner.  Recipients show a great capacity to grasp the principles of science, to heal the sick, to comfort the troubled, and to be humble before God.

Student Awards

April Edwards
Meredith Gilliam
Bryson Greenwood
Megan Jordan
Brice Lefler
Jim Lefler
Sally Wood

The Frank Lee Dameron Award
The Class of 1975 established the Dameron Award in memory of their classmate to recognize his achievements as a medical student and his commitment to return to his hometown in a medically underserved area of the state to practice medicine. The recipients are committed to practicing primary care in an underserved area of North Carolina.

Bryson Greenwood
Meredith Soles

The James A. Bryan Ⅱ Award
This award is a tribute to Dr. James Bryan II, who during more than three decades of service to the UNC School of Medicine, has taught, mentored, and befriended countless students and instilled in them an unwavering commitment to compassionate patient care.  Created by the Class of 1999, the award honors a graduating UNC medical student who embodies the spirit of Dr. Bryan by improving the medical school community and bettering the educational experience of fellow medical students.

Megan Jordan
Sally Wood

The William deB. MacNider Award
This award was established in 1950 by the sophomore class and promotes public commendation of sophomore medical students who possess various intangible traits of good character as shown by Dr. Billy MacNider.

Emily Ray
Daniel White

Academic Merit Awards
The Edwards-Hobgood Distinguished Scholarship
The Edwards-Hobgood Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes an entering medical student for both academic excellence and ability to become a distinguished physician.

Alisa Eanes
Jonathan Manhard
Aaron Moore
Sarah Obeid

Departmental Awards

Social Medicine Paper Prize, Department of Social Medicine
The Social Medicine Paper Prize recognizes a scholarly paper, essay, artistic work, or fiction by a student in one of the Social Medicine classes.  The work encompasses critical thinking, humanistic perspectives, and social insights related to health, illness, and treatment.

Daniel J. Green


Filed under: