Call for Nominations: 2012 Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer

The Selection Committee for the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture seeks nominations for the 2012 Lecturer. All nominations are due by April 2.

February 28, 2012

Dear School of Medicine faculty member:

The Selection Committee for the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture seeks nominations for the 2012 Lecturer.

The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture is our annual convocation. It is a time when we reflect upon our School’s splendid heritage of collegiality and excellence, to which Norma Berryhill contributed so much. It is also the occasion on which we formally welcome our newest faculty members.

The Lecturer shall be an actively employed member of the faculty of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill at the time of selection. Fully retired faculty and recently appointed faculty who have not arrived in Chapel Hill are not eligible.

  1. Nominations for the Lecturer shall come from individual faculty members and alumni. Departmental, divisional, or other corporate nominations will not be accepted.
  2. Nominees should have made distinguished contributions to the stature of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  3. The Committee requests that you send the name (s) of your nominee(s) with your reasons for the nomination stated briefly. The Committee will be responsible for obtaining other supporting materials, such as curriculum vitae, etc.

Please submit your nominations to the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture Selection Committee in hard copy format (CB #7000) or via email to Marie Mitchell ( in the Dean’s Office, School of Medicine, by Monday, April 2, 2012.



M. Andrew Greganti, MD, Committee Chair
David B. Anderson, MBA, President, Medical Foundation of North Carolina
Tim Carey, MD, MPH
Elizabeth Dreesen, MD, FACS
James P. Evans, MD, PhD
Peter Gilligan, PhD
James R. Harper, MD
Terry Magnuson, PhD


The Dean and Advisory Committee of the School of Medicine established the Norma Berryhill Lectureship in September 1984.  The Lectureship has two essential components:  (1) a Lecture to be given annually by a tenured or tenure track member of the faculty of the Medical School; and (2) a convocation of the Medical School to be held at the time of the Lecture and at which new faculty members will be recognized.

The aims of the Lectureship are twofold.  First, the selection of the Norma Berryhill Lecturer is meant to honor a member of the faculty whose accomplishments have added distinction to the Medical School.

Second, the convocation is intended to further a sense of community within the Medical School.  Because Mrs. Berryhill was a major factor in developing this sense, the Lectureship was named in her honor.


1985   John B. Graham, MD (Pathology)

1986   G. Philip Manire, PhD (Microbiology)

1987   Floyd W. Denny, MD (Pediatrics)

1988   Mary Ellen Jones, PhD (Biochemistry)

1989   Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD (Surgery)

1990   Carl W. Gottschalk, MD (Medicine)

1991   William B. Blythe, MD (Medicine)

1992   George Johnson, Jr., MD (Surgery)

1993  Stuart Bondurant, MD (Medicine)

1994   Judson J. Van Wyk, MD (Pediatrics)

1995   Christopher C. Fordham III, MD (Medicine)

1996   Frank C. Wilson, MD (Surgery)

1997   Joseph S. Pagano, MD (Medicine)

1998   Joe W. Grisham, MD (Pathology)

1999   P. Frederick Sparling, MD (Medicine)

2000   George F. Sheldon, MD (Surgery)

2001   Edward A. Norfleet, MD (Anesthesiology)

2002   Oliver Smithies, MA, DPhil (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

2003   Harold R. Roberts, MD (Medicine & Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

2004   Philip A. Bromberg, MD (Medicine)

2005   Joel E. Tepper, MD (Radiation Oncology)

2006   Robert C. Cefalo, MD, PhD (Obstetrics & Gynecology)

2007    H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (Medicine)

2008    Richard C. Boucher, Jr., MD (Medicine)

2009    Jeffrey L. Houpt, MD (Dean Emeritus & Psychiatry)

2010    Jenny P-Y Ting, PhD (Microbiology & Immunology)

2011    Ronald Falk, MD (Medicine and Pathology and Lab Medicine)

Filed under: