Medical Staff Influenza Vaccination

This page is dedicated to resources to help faculty physicians and other credentialed medical staff obtain their influenza vaccination for the 2012-2013 flu season.

In an effort to ensure the health of our patients, colleagues and families, UNC Health Care will initiate a mandatory employee flu vaccine program during the 2012-2013 flu season. Medical staff, students, volunteers, vendors and any School of Medicine employees identified as providing service in one of the UNC Health Care facilities are also required to receive a flu vaccine.

Flu vaccines are now available. Both inactivated (shots) and live attenuated (nasal spray) flu vaccines will be available through University’s Employee Occupational Health Clinic (UEOHC) and Occupational Health Services (OHS).

Because some colleagues have valid medical or religious reasons that do not allow them to receive a flu vaccine, exemption forms are available for employees with a medical contraindication or for those who wish to declare a religious exemption.

The flu is associated with more than 150,000 hospitalizations and 24,000 deaths annually. Together we have made great strides in increasing patient safety across UNC Health Care. We believe that receiving a flu vaccine is a simple way to help keep our patients – and each other – safe.

You can view the message from Dr. Roper regarding UNC Health Care's mandatory flu vaccine program at this link. The policy is available on the UNC Health Care Intranet: Influenza Immunization of Healthcare Personnel IC0062


UEOHC Flu Clinics located near SOM buildings

UEOHC Walk-in flu clinic hours

Thursdays and Fridays
9 am to 12 noon and 1 pm to 4 pm

UEOHC Vaccination by Appointment

School of Medicine employees who cannot make it to the UEOHC on a walk-in flu clinic day may also make an appointment to receive the influenza vaccine any clinic day of the week by using the online appointment schedule and selecting "Immunization Review-New" from the drop down menu.


UNC Health Care Occupational Health Services (OHS) Walk-in Clinics

Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays
7:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. in
OHS, 1st floor, Old Clinic Building

 

UNC Health Care OHS Clinics - Children's Hospital Lobby

  • Monday, Oct. 1: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Oct. 8: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Oct. 15: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Oct. 22: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Oct. 29: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Thursday, Nov. 8: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Nov. 19: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Nov. 26: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Dec. 3: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Dec. 10: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Dec. 17: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Dec. 24: 6 a.m. - noon
  • Monday, Dec. 31: 6 a.m. - noon

Additional flu clinics are scheduled at the following dates, times, and locations:

  • Ambulatory Care Center (ACC)
    Monday, Oct. 8
    1:30 - 4 p.m.
    ACC 2nd floor lobby
  • Ambulatory Care Center (ACC)
    Tuesday, Oct. 9
    5 - 7 p.m.
    ACC 2nd floor lobby
  • Ambulatory Care Center (ACC)
    Thursday, Oct. 11
    9 a.m. - 2 p.m.
    ACC 2nd floor lobby
  • Timberlyne
    Thursday, Oct. 11
    8:30 a.m. - noon
  • UNC P&A Franklin Square
    Thursday, Oct. 11
    1 - 4:30 p.m.
  • Highgate Specialty Clinic
    Tuesday, Oct. 16
    11 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • UNC Wellness Center at Meadowmont
    Thursday, Oct. 25
    8 a.m. - noon
  • ISD Conference Room at Meadowmont
    Thursday, Oct. 25
    1 - 4:30 p.m.
  • Women's Hospital Lobby
    Friday, Nov. 2 (during Multicultural Fair)
    10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
  • Hedrick Building
    Tuesday, Nov. 13
    1 - 4 p.m.
  • UNC Hospitals
    4 Anderson Conference Room
    Friday, Dec. 7
    3 - 6 a.m.

All Resources:

Influenza Immunization of Healthcare Personnel IC0062

A letter from Dr. Roper to UNC Health Care employees

University Employee Occupational Health Clinic (UEOHC) Flu Vaccination webpage

UNC Health Care Influenza Vaccination webpage