Distinguished Professorships - Call for Nominations

The Provost requests nominations for Kenan Professorships; William R. Kenan, Jr. Professorships, and Cary C. Boshamer Professorships by Feb. 22.

I am pleased to inform you that we will be able to name several of our faculty members to distinguished professorships this year.  These professorships may include the following:  Kenan Professorships; William R. Kenan, Jr. Professorships, and Cary C. Boshamer Professorships.

All are open to faculty members throughout the University.  I ask for your nominations of exceptionally distinguished faculty members to be considered for these various professorships.  Any individual nominated must be a tenured full professor and must have a record of scholarly and educational distinction.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.

To nominate a faculty member, please submit electronic copies (each as an individual attachment) of the following to Nelia Resendes Cooper at nrcooper@unc.edu no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, February 22, 2013:

- your nomination letter

- a copy of the individual's curriculum vitae

- a letter of support from the individual's Dean

- a list of three references for your nominee with complete contact information, including email addresses

- in units with departments, a second letter of support from the Department Chair

A faculty committee composed of current distinguished professors will review the nominations.  The Chair of this committee will be Professor Sheryl Zimmerman from the School of Social Work.  The committee will recommend to me individuals to be considered for the available professorships, indicating which professorship may be most appropriate for a particular individual.

Questions may be directed to Dr. Ron Strauss, Executive Vice Provost at ron_strauss@unc.edu.

Thank you for your careful consideration of this request.


Bruce W. Carney, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost