Castillo appointed 2013-2014 ASNR President

On May 22, Mauricio Castillo, MD, FACR, Professor of Radiology and Neuroradiology Division Chief, was appointed as the 2013-2014 President of the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR).

Castillo appointed 2013-2014 ASNR President click to enlarge Dr. Mauricio Castillo (rt) with 2012-2013 ASNR President Dr. Pamela Schaefer

Castillo was named president-elect in April 2012. During his career, he has served in multiple capacities within ASNR, including ASNR Foundation scholar award subcommittee member; ASNR co-sponsored basic science research award reviewer; annual meeting MOC review session facilitator; and invited web education scientific coordinator. Castillo's most significant ASNR appointment to date has been serving as editor-in-chief of American Journal of Neuroradiology--the ASNR's core publication--a position he's held since 2007.

In 2010, with backing from the UNC Department of Radiology Wood Fund for the Advancement of Neuroradiology, Castillo created a custom, AJNR website-accessible collection of published articles authored or co-authored by members of the UNC Neuroradiology Division.

For the year ahead, Castillo noted: “I am honored to become ASNR’s 50th President and at the same time to continue my responsibilities as AJNR’s Editor-in-Chief. Fifty years after the naming of ASNR’s first President, Dr. Juan Taveras, a circle in time closes itself as another Hispanic individual occupies both the ASNR presidency and AJNR’s chief editorship. In this shrinking world, this is evidence of the globalization and internationalization of our professional society, and we should all be proud that it now reaches more individuals in different countries than ever before.”