UNC student granted Physicians for Tomorrow Award

Moneika Owens, a rising fourth-year medical student at the School of Medicine, was recently granted the American Medical Association Foundation’s Physicians of Tomorrow Award.

UNC student granted Physicians for Tomorrow Award click to enlarge Moneika Owens

“I was thrilled and grateful when I heard the news,” Owens said.  “I was in the middle of a long work shift and reading this email immediately cheered me up.”

Prior to receiving the award, Owens was the Vice President of the UNC Chapter of Student National Medical Association (SNMA) from 2011-2012 where she helped establish a program to combat childhood obesity at a local middle school titled "Zumba Girls." Owens has also been awarded the June C. Alcott Fellowship Award and the David E. Satcher Research Fellowship.

The AMA Foundation grants twenty-one rising fourth-year medical students across the nation a $10,000 tuition-assistance scholarship.

Each recipient was nominated by his/her medical school and chosen based upon academic excellence, financial need, community involvement and leadership.

Owens plans to use the scholarship money to pay off her medical school debt and hopes to enter family medicine.

The AMA Foundation has been awarding medical students with more than $60 million in scholarship money since 1950.