Recapping recent award winners

Over the past few months, several faculty awards have been announced. A look back at features on the award recipients.

Jefferson-Pilot Award:

Maureen Su, MD, associate professor in the department of microbiology and immunology, as well as pediatrics, was awarded a Jefferson-Pilot Award for her research and clinical care of children with autoimmune endocrine diseases, including type-1 diabetes. Read more about Dr. Su and her work here.

Edward Miao, MD, PhD, earned a Jefferson-Pilot Award for his groundbreaking work on the interplay between dangerous pathogens and the human immune system. Read more about Dr. Miao and his work here.

The Fuller Award:

This year's H. Fleming Fuller Award recipient was Dr. Matt Ewend, MD, FACS, Van L. Weatherspoon, Jr. Eminent Distinguished Professor and Chair, UNC Department of Neurosurgery. The award is given annually to the member of the medical staff who most embodies Dr. Fuller’s lifelong commitment to patient care, teaching and community service. Read more about Dr. Ewend and the award here.

James Woods Junior Faculty Award:

Arlene Chung, MD, MHA, MMCi, was awarded the James Woods Junior Faculty Award in recognition of her leadership in the field of clinical informatics. Read more about Dr. Chung's work here.

Filed under: