Castillo receives American Society of Neuroradiology Gold Medal

Mauricio Castillo, MD, has been selected as one of two recipients of the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR)’s 2018 Gold Medal. This award is given annually to distinguished neuroradiologists in recognition of outstanding service to the subspecialty.

Castillo receives American Society of Neuroradiology Gold Medal click to enlarge Mauricio Castillo, MD, the James H. Scatliff, MD Distinguished Professor of Radiology.

Mauricio Castillo, MD, the James H. Scatliff, MD Distinguished Professor of Radiology, served as ASNR’s 2013-2014 President and for eight years (2007-2015), he was the American Journal of Neuroradiology (AJNR)’s Editor-in-Chief. He previously held several prominent ASNR positions, including Vice President, Secretary, and membership on its Executive, Public Relations, Program Directors and Research Committees.  He is a founding member of the American Society of Pediatric Neuroradiology (ASPNR). 

His career in academic radiology has incorporated other leadership roles in the field, most recently, his appointment as the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS)' 2016-2017 President.  He also holds career distinction in the field as a Fellow of the American College of Radiology. As a scholar, Castillo has authored or co-authored nearly 650 original and invited articles and 30 books.  He has served as a Visiting Professor 50 times and delivered over 1100 lectures.  He is an honorary member of many societies including the European Society of Neuroradiology and Radiology Societies from Spain, Argentina, Taiwan, and Brazil.

At the departmental level, Castillo has served as UNC’s Division Chief of Neuroradiology at UNC since 1992, as well as its Neuroradiology Fellowship Director for almost 20 years. For years, Castillo has been tapped as one of the Department’s key decision makers, serving as a long-time member on committees dedicated to executive decisions, resident education and selection, peer review and faculty promotion, amongst others. Castillo’s contributions at the departmental level earned him appointment in 2016 as UNC’s second James H. Scatliff, M.D. Distinguished Professor of Radiology.

Regarding ASNR’s recognition of his career, Castillo noted: “I am extremely honored and very happy to receive this award.  The award also goes to those who have allowed me the time to pursue many service activities at national and international levels, as well as those who have mentored me over the years.”

Filed under: