Five-Year Review of Stephen Hooper, PhD, Chair, Department of Allied Health Sciences

An ad hoc committee has been appointed to undertake a routine review of the leadership provided by Stephen Hooper, PhD, in his position as Chair of the Department of Allied Health Sciences. The review is a standard procedure of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The committee invites your written or verbal comments, suggestions and relevant information. The review will take place on August 26, 2019.

If you wish to write, please send your correspondence to me at the following address prior to August 19, 2019.  Please note that North Carolina law requires that any written materials developed or received by the committee during the review may be made available to the person being reviewed upon request.  All requests from the person being reviewed will be handled by the Legal Department with names and any identifying information being redacted prior to release of the material.


Tim Carey, MD, MPH

Chair, Stephen Hooper, PhD, Review Committee

4030 Bondurant Hall

Campus Box #7000

Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7000

Attn:  Kelly Doss, Review Coordinator


You may also direct your comments to any of the committee members, whose names are listed below.  Although there will be a limited number of opportunities to address the review committee on August 26, 2019, individuals who wish to do so should contact Kelly Doss at 919-966-1712 or no later than August 19, 2019.

Members of the Review Committee

Tim Carey, MD, MPH – Review Committee Chair – Professor, Departments of Social Medicine and Medicine

Joshua Alexander, MD – Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

David Berkoff, MD – Professor, Department of Orthopaedics

Jason Franz, MD – Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Beth Jonas, MD, FACR – Professor, Department of Medicine; Chief, Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology; Director Rheumatology Fellowship Program

Robert McLaughlin, PhD – Dean for the School of Health Professions, Baylor College of Medicine

Jonathan Oberlander, PhD –Chair, Department of Social Medicine; Professor, Health Policy Management

Hae Won Shin, MD – Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology

Kelly Doss - Review Staff Support, Executive Coordinator, CEO/Dean’s Office

Filed under: