UNC School of Medicine seeks Chair, Department of Psychiatry

The UNC School of Medicine seeks a well-qualified leader to serve as Chair for the Department of Psychiatry.

The Department of Psychiatry is nationally recognized for its excellence in clinical practice, research, and education. The Department is comprised of 524 faculty, staff, and trainees who sustain and drive the tripartite mission. The selected individual will provide leadership and direction for clinical behavioral health care that includes 104 inpatient beds, 32 facility crisis beds, and more than 50000 outpatient visits in 12 different clinical locations. The department excels in the research mission ranking 14th in the nation for NIH funding with faculty pursuing multiple basic, translational and clinical avenues of research, including circuit neuroscience, genetics, developmental neurobiology, stress epigenetics, neuromodulation, and brain imaging across multiple disorders, including depression, psychosis, substance abuse, eating disorders, and women’s mood disorders. The Department has accredited fellowships in consultation-liaison psychiatry, child and adolescent psychiatry, forensic psychiatry, addiction medicine, and women’s mood disorders and excels in teaching learners at all levels of training from entry level to post-graduate. The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill provides a highly collaborative and interactive environment, and department faculty have multiple collaborations across the University as well as inter-institutional collaborations.

Minimum qualifications include an M.D./D.O. degree, strong leadership skills and experience,  clinical expertise, a record of research accomplishment, a strong commitment to education and diversity, and a clear demonstration of the qualities needed to lead and manage a multifaceted academic department.

Consideration of candidates will begin immediately and continue until the search has been successfully concluded. Interested individuals should submit a cover letter describing your interest, current curriculum vitae, and a research/leadership statement via the following https://unc.peopleadmin.com/postings/151386
Candidates considered for an interview will be asked to provide the names and contact information for four references. Women and individuals identifying as underrepresented are strongly encouraged to apply.

Candidates requesting additional information about this search can do so by contacting the search committee at:

Rick Stouffer, MD.
Professor of Medicine (Cardiology)
Search Committee Chair
Office of the Dean, School of Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
4030 Bondurant Hall
Campus Box 7000
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599-7000
ATTN: Crystal Walker
Crystal.Walker@unchealth.unc.edu

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer. All qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to age, color, disability, gender, gender expression, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or status as a protected veteran.

Psychiatry Chair Search Committee

Rick Stouffer, MD, Committee Chair; rick_stouffer@med.unc.edu
Amir Barzin, DO, MS; Assistant Professor, Family Medicine; amir_barzin@med.unc.edu
Jane Brice, MD, MPH ; Professor & Chair, Emergency Medicine; Jane_Brice@med.unc.edu
Kevin Carneiro, DO; Assistant Prof., Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation; Kevin_carneiro@med.unc.edu
Thomas Ivester, MD. MPH; CMO, UNC Hospitals; thomas.ivester@unchealth.unc.edu
Thomas Kash, PhD; VC Faculty Development, Pharmacology; tkash@email.unc.edu
Matt Mauck, MD, PhD; Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology; M_mauck@med.unc.edu
Michael O’Shea, MD, MPH; Professor, Pediatrics; moshea52@email.unc.edu
Ben Philpot, PhD; Professor, Cell Biology and Physiology; bphilpot@med.unc.edu
Lisa Tarantino, PhD; Associate Professor, Genetics; lisat@med.unc.edu
Bradley Vaughn, MD; Professor, Neurology; vaughnb@neurology.unc.edu
David Weber, MD, MPH; Professor, Medicine & Pediatrics; dweber@unch.unc.edu
Felicia Williams, MD, Assistant Professor, Surgery; Felicia_williams@med.unc.edu
Gary Winzelberg, MD, MPH; Assistant Professor, Geriatric Medicine; garywinzelberg@med.unc.edu

Administrative Support:
Crystal Walker; crystal.walker@unchealth.unc.edu