Matthews named Associate Dean for Administration

Karlina Matthews, MBA, has been named Associate Dean for Administration at the UNC School of Medicine, pending requisite approvals from the University. Matthews has been with the UNC School of Medicine since 2002, holding several roles of increasing responsibility within the Department of Psychiatry. Since 2015, she has served as the Department’s Associate Chair for Administration.

Matthews named Associate Dean for Administration click to enlarge Karlina Matthews, MBA

As Associate Dean for Administration, Matthews will oversee all administrative practices at the School of Medicine, reporting to Executive Dean, Dr. Cristy Page. Specifically, Matthews will be responsible for oversight of the SOM Offices of Human Resources, Information Technology, Space Planning, and Professional Service Contracts and Affiliations, working in close collaboration with leaders from UNC-Chapel Hill, UNC Medical Center and UNC Health Care.

Matthews is an active leader, both within the School of Medicine, and across campus. She serves on the UNC Faculty Physicians Compensation Committee, the Faculty Physicians Associate Chairs for Administration Executive Committee, and the UNC SOM Administration Advisory Committee. In addition, she serves as Treasurer of the UNC Employee Forum, also sitting on the group’s Executive Committee.

During her time with the Department of Psychiatry, Matthews has been consistently recognized for her exemplary work, twice receiving the Judy Mann Award, an annual departmental award that celebrates “extraordinary, creative, and tireless service.”

Katie Eimers, who has held the role of Associate Dean for Administration since 2017, will be moving into a new role within UNC Health Care, working more closely with CEO of UNC Health Care, and Dean of the UNC School of Medicine, Dr. Wesley Burks.

An interim ACA will be named to fill Matthews’ position in the Department of Psychiatry.