UNC School of Medicine Academy of Educators Welcomes New Leadership

The UNC School of Medicine Academy of Educators (AOE) has elected a new president and two Leadership Council members, and appointed a standing council member for resident/fellow representation. Read on to learn more.

UNC School of Medicine Academy of Educators Welcomes New Leadership click to enlarge From left to right: Drs. Lindsay Wilson, Ken Fortier, Jennifer McEntee, and Katie Weinel

The Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development and the Academy of Educators leadership are pleased to announce the results of our 2020 leadership elections.

Lindsay Wilson, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Geriatric Medicine and John W. Foust Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor, has been named the President-Elect of the UNC Academy of Educators. Effective April 1st, 2020, Dr. Wilson will begin her term, succeeding current President Amy Shaheen, MD, MSc. Read more about Dr. Lindsay Wilson here.

In addition, Kenneth Fortier, MD, and Jennifer McEntee MD, MPH, MAEd have been elected as Rotating Council Members. Rotating Council members are AOE members nominated by their departments and elected by the membership. Terms for Rotating Council members are three years.

The Academy has also appointed Katie Weinel, MD as a Standing Committee Member to represent resident and fellow members of the AOE. This position was added to the AOE by-laws this year and approved by the membership in the recent election. Thank you to Dr. Weinel for joining the Council!

Thank you to all of the candidates who stood for election and to those who voted in the election.  We appreciate your support of the AOE and are looking forward to another strong year of medical educator development!

Learn more about the Academy of Educators by visiting our website.

Filed under: