Seeking Nominations for 2020 Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer

The Selection Committee for the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture seeks nominations for the 2020 Lecturer. Instructions for nominating a member of the School of Medicine faculty accompany this letter.

The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture is our annual convocation. It is a time when we reflect upon our School’s splendid heritage of collegiality and excellence, to which Norma Berryhill contributed so much. It is an important event within our SOM community, and at this time, the decision has not been made regarding a live or virtual Berryhill Lecture.  This is also the occasion on which we formally welcome our newest faculty members.

Please submit your nominations to the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture Selection Committee to Beverly Ross ( via email or online form by July 3, 2020.

Previous lecturers are:

1985   John B. Graham, MD (Pathology)

1986   G. Philip Manire, PhD (Microbiology)

1987   Floyd W. Denny, MD (Pediatrics)

1988   Mary Ellen Jones, PhD (Biochemistry)

1989   Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD (Surgery)

1990   Carl W. Gottschalk, MD (Medicine)

1991   William B. Blythe, MD (Medicine)

1992   George Johnson, Jr., MD (Surgery)

1993     Stuart Bondurant, MD (Medicine)

1994   Judson J. Van Wyk, MD (Pediatrics)

1995   Christopher C. Fordham III, MD (Medicine)

1996   Frank C. Wilson, MD (Surgery)

1997   Joseph S. Pagano, MD (Medicine)

1998   Joe W. Grisham, MD (Pathology)

1999   P. Frederick Sparling, MD (Medicine)

2000   George F. Sheldon, MD (Surgery)

2001   Edward A. Norfleet, MD (Anesthesiology)

2002   Oliver Smithies, MA, DPhil (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

2003   Harold R. Roberts, MD (Medicine & Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

2004   Philip A. Bromberg, MD (Medicine)

2005   Joel E. Tepper, MD (Radiation Oncology)

2006   Robert C. Cefalo, MD, PhD (Obstetrics & Gynecology)

2007   H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (Medicine)

2008   Richard C. Boucher, Jr., MD (Medicine)

2009   Jeffrey L. Houpt, MD (Dean Emeritus & Psychiatry)

2010   Jenny P-Y Ting, PhD (Microbiology & Immunology)

2011   Ronald Falk, MD (Medicine and Pathology & Lab Medicine)

2012   Eugene Orringer, MD (Medicine)

2013   Judith Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP (Emergency Medicine)

2014   Myron Cohen, MD (Global Health)

2015   J. Charles Jennette, MD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

2016   Aziz Sancar, MD, PhD (2015 Nobel Laureate, Biochemistry & Biophysics)

2017   Nancy Chescheir, MD (OB-Gyn)

2018   Giselle Corbie-Smith, MD, MSc (Social Medicine and Medicine)

2019   William L. Roper, MD, MPH (Interim President, UNC System)

Please submit your nominations to the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture Selection Committee to Beverly Ross ( via email or online form by July 3, 2020.


Wendy R. Brewster, MD, PhD, Chair

Erin Malloy, MD

Samantha Meltzer-Brody, MD, MPH

Kenya McNeal-Trice, MD

Jonathan Berg, MD, PhD

Nick Shaheen, MD, MPH

Sharon Campbell, MS, PhD

Alisa Wolberg, PhD

Henrik G. Dohlman, PhD

Wesley Fowler, MD

Janet Hadar, MSN, MBA

Lisa Schiller


The Dean and Advisory Committee of the School of Medicine established the Norma Berryhill Lectureship in September 1984.  The Lectureship has two essential components:  (1) a Lecture to be given annually by a member of the faculty of the Medical School; and (2) a convocation of the Medical School to be held at the time of the Lecture and at which new faculty members will be recognized.

The aims of the Lectureship are twofold.  First, the selection of the Norma Berryhill Lecturer is meant to honor a member of the faculty whose accomplishments have added distinction to the Medical School.

Second, the convocation is intended to further a sense of community within the Medical School.  Because Mrs. Berryhill was a major factor in developing this sense, the Lectureship was named in her honor.


The Lecturer shall be an actively employed member of the faculty of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill at the time of selection.  Recently appointed faculty who have not arrived in Chapel Hill are not eligible.  Nominations can be fixed-term faculty, tenure-track or tenured faculty.

  • Nominations for the Lecturer shall come from individual faculty members and alumni.  Departmental, divisional, or other corporate nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominees should have made distinguished contributions to the stature of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • The Committee requests that you send the name (s) of your nominee(s) with your reasons for the nomination stated briefly.  This should be followed up with a nomination letter.  The Committee will be responsible for obtaining a current curriculum vitae.
Filed under: