2010 Graduation Awards

Awards for graduating students, faculty, and house staff were announced at the School of Medicine commencement ceremony on May 8, 2010.

Awards for Scholarship:

Doctor of Medicine with Distinction is award to students who earned a cumulative year-end grade of Honors for all years of medical school in which the grade of Honors is an option.  2010 recipients - Souvik Chatterjee, Maria Katherine Henry, Haley Patricia Meyer, Erik Christian Anders Olsson, Trista Day Snyder Reid, Alyssa Darcelle Searles, and Katherine Davis Westreich.

The Glasgow-Rubin Academic Achievement Award and Citations are presented by the American Medical Women’s Association to recognize women graduates who have excelled academically throughout medical school.  2010 recipients - Casey Jae Davis, Maria Katherine Henry, Haley Patricia Meyer, Returi Priti Rao, Trista Day Snyder Reid, Haley Burchfield Ringwood, Alyssa Darcelle Searles, Lauren Claire Smith, and Katherine Davis Westreich.

The Isaac Hall Manning Award winner is selected from among faculty nominations based scholarship, character, leadership, initiative, and original investigative work.  2010 recipient – David L. Rosen

Leadership and Contributions to the School of Medicine:

The Christopher C. Fordham III Award recognizes graduating students for outstanding and creative leadership at the medical school. Nominations for this award were solicited from the chairs of the departments based on their faculty’s recommendations and from members of the senior class.   2010 recipient – Gabriel Cade

The James Bell Bullitt Award provides an opportunity for recognizing unusual achievements or contributions to the medical school community by a member of the senior class.  Seniors nominate their classmates for this award.  2010 recipients – Ian Joseph Nelligan and Lorene Atkins Temming

The Merck Manual Award offered by the Merck Publishing Group is given to graduating students based on contributions to the medical school community.  The staff members in the Office of Student Affairs and the Admissions Office select the recipients.  2010 recipients – Margareth Pierre-Louis, Patrick Carlsen Smith, Alan Glenn Woodruff

Public Service:
The Terri Brenneman Award recognizes a graduating senior who has demonstrated a commitment to serve the underserved. Members of the senior class nominate classmates for this award and the recipient selects a charitable cause to receive a donation in his or her name from the Terri Brenneman Memorial Fund.  2010 recipient – Haley Burchfield Ringwood who chose the Honduran Health Alliance to receive the contribution.

Humanism in Medicine:
The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Student Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation is presented to a student who consistently demonstrates compassion and empathy in the  delivery of care, shows respect for all, demonstrates cultural sensitivity, displays effective communication and listening skills, adheres to professional ethical standards, understands a patient's need for interpretation of complex medical diagnosis while showing respect for a patient's viewpoint, pays attention to patients' psychological well-being, engender trust and confidence, and remains personally committed to self-evaluation.  The student recipient has helped others and accepted help from others when necessary, engaged in volunteer activities showing concern for the welfare of the community, and sought and accepted criticism for improvement of performance.  Students are nominated by faculty members and classmates. 2010 recipient – Joshua Norstrom Berkowitz

The Daniel T. Young Peace and Social Justice Award goes to the graduating student who, in the opinion of his or her classmates, has demonstrated—through extracurricular activities—the most steadfast dedication to the advancement of peace and social justice. 2010 recipient – Shereen Azam Alavian

The Gilbert J. Cuthbertson, M.D. and Megan C. Danton, M.D. Memorial Award recognizes the qualities of caring for others; an ability to make people smile; joy in living; and, in particular, a quiet compassion for all humankind. Graduating students nominate their classmates.  2010 recipient – Akshay Pendyal

Departmental Awards:

The Family Medicine Student Award is presented in recognition of accomplishments and dedication to the ideals of family medicine.  2010 recipient - Dawn Caviness

The Thrasher Award is given to the graduating senior who showed the most outstanding performance and ability in Psychiatry.  2010 recipient – Catherine Sullivan

The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine’s Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award recognizes a student who has been outstanding in the specialty.  2010 recipient - Ryan Shanks

The Best Physiatrist Award honors the senior medical student who demonstrates the exemplary qualities necessary to care for persons with physical disabilities.  2010 recipient – Joseph Hoyle

The George F. Shelton Award honors a member of the graduating class who demonstrated excellence in surgery.  2010 recipient –Trista Day Snyder Reid

The Cecil G. Sheps Award recognizes a senior selected by the Department of Social Medicine who demonstrates academic excellence and practical commitment to the principles of social medicine.  2010 recipient – Rachel Katherine Fesperman Woodruff

The Paul F. Lachiewicz Award for Orthopaedics recognizes clinical or research achievement by a student who has matched into an orthopaedic residency program.  2010 recipient – Daniel Lee Cavanaugh

The American Academy of Neurology’s Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology recognizes excellence in clinical neurology.  2010 recipient – Jeffrey W. Cooney

Faculty and House Staff Awards:

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Faculty Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation is selected by members of the graduating class to recognize qualities similar to the student award.  In addition, the faculty recipient serves as a role model and mentor, is approachable and accessible to students, and exhibits enthusiasm in interactions with students. 2010 recipient – Dr. Beat Steiner, Department of Family Medicine

The Professor Award is presented to a faculty member who, by his or her willingness, understanding, and ability, has contributed most to the students’ medical education.  2010 recipient – Dr. Julie Byerley, Department of Pediatrics

The Henry C. Fordham Award recognizes a member of the house staff for the qualities of patience, humility, and devotion to medicine.  2010 recipient –Dr. William T. Bradford, Department of Anesthesiology

Filed under: ,