Skip to main content
Sidney C. Smith Jr., MD

World Heart Federation Past President Dr. Sidney Smith was presented with the WHF Lifetime Achievement Award today at the opening of ESC Congress 2019 together with the World Congress of Cardiology, for his remarkable contribution to the mission of the World Heart Federation and the entire CVD community over the entirety of his illustrious career.

Sidney C. Smith, Jr., MD, is professor of medicine in the division of cardiology at the UNC School of Medicine. He received medical degree from Yale University and completed his medical residency, and cardiology fellowship at Peter Bent Brigham (now Brigham and Women’s) Hospital/Harvard Medical School.

He is a past president of both the World Heart Federation and the American Heart Association, and is a Fellow in several associations including the AHA, European Society of Cardiology, and Royal Society of Medicine, a Master fellow of the ACC and is an Honorary International Fellow of the Japanese Circulation Society and the Chilean Society of Cardiology and Cardiovascular Surgery. He has received the AHA’s Physician of the Year Award, Distinguished National Leadership Award, Gold Heart Award, Eugene Drake Award, Joseph Stokes Award in Preventive Cardiology, Council of Clinical Cardiology Distinguished Achievement Award, Chairman’s Award, the James Herrick Distinguished Clinician Award , and the Ron Haddock International Impact Award as well as the Brazilian Cardiology Society International Teaching Award. Dr. Smith is the recipient of the NHLBI/NIH Award of Special

Dr. Smith is an author or coauthor on more than 400 published papers and chapters and and has served or currently serves on the editorial boards for the Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine, Journal of Clinical and Experimental Cardiology, Journal of the American College of Cardiology, Circulation and JAMA Cardiology. He continues his clinical practice in Cardiology at UNC. Yearly since 1998 Dr. Smith has been elected to Best Doctors in America.