Skip to main content

M. Kathryn Menard, MD, MPH, was honored with the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Outstanding District Service Award amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

M. Kathryn Menard, MD, MPH, the Upjohn Distinguished Professor of Maternal-Fetal Medicine at the UNC School of Medicine, received the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) District Service Award this week. The award was given by Maureen G. Phipps, MD, MPH, FACOG, Chief Executive Officer of ACOG. Dr. Phipps said Dr. Menard’s leadership and contributions she has made to District IV were invaluable and crucial to ACOG’s mission of advancing women’s health care.

Due to the global situation surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting in Seattle, WA was canceled. In lieu of announcing the award in person, Dr. Menard’s achievement was recognized at the ACOG 2020 Annual Business Meeting held virtually on April 25, 2020.

Dr. Menard received her bachelor’s degree with honors in zoology and psychology from Duke University and her MD at New Jersey Medical School. She completed her residency in obstetrics and gynecology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. Following her residency, she completed her fellowship in maternal fetal medicine at UNC School of Medicine in 1991. During her Fellowship, Dr. Menard completed her MPH in epidemiology and became a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar. Dr. Menard’s areas of research include preconception care, high risk obstetrics, preterm birth prevention, and obstetric ultrasound.

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists is a premiere professional membership organization for obstetricians and gynecologists. The College’s activities include producing practice guidelines for providers and educational materials for patients, providing practice management and career support, facilitating programs and initiatives aimed at improving women’s health, and advocating on behalf of members and patients. The organization has more than 60,000 members, and is composed of 12 districts representing various regions, countries, territories, and states in North and South America.