Skip to main content

The Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development, along with the SOM Nominating Committee, is delighted to announce the results of the 2020 School of Medicine Standing Committee Elections.

On behalf of the Dean’s Office, thank you to the SOM Nominating Committee, each of the faculty who stood for election, and each of you who voted in this year’s election. We saw a 42% response rate this election; thank you for recognizing the importance of the elections in medical school governance!

Please join us in congratulating the faculty below on their recent election to the various Standing Committees.

SOM Dean’s Advisory Committee
Joan Taylor, PhD – Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

SOM Committee to Review Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure – Associate Professor
Donita Robinson, PhD – Psychiatry
Jason Whitmire, PhD – Genetics/Microbiology and Immunology

SOM Committee to Review Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure – Full Professor
Anthony Charles, MD – Surgery
John Ikonomidis, MD, PhD – Surgery/Cell Biology and Physiology
Lynn Fordham, MD – Radiology
Jennifer Wu, MD, MPH – Obstetrics and Gynecology

SOM Committee to Review Promotions of Fixed Term Faculty
Lynn Damitz, MD – Surgery
Sharon Williams, PhD, MS – Allied Health Sciences

Please also join us in sending a special thank you to our colleagues finishing their terms of service on these committees. We appreciate your contributions!

If you are interested in future service on one of the UNC School of Medicine Standing Committees, please reach out to Morgan Resnick-Kahle, Assistant Director for Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development (