Skip to main content

This year the Awards for Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring go to Blossom Damania, PhD, Amy Gladfelter, PhD, Brian Kuhlman, PhD, Karen Mohlke, PhD, Natasha Snider, PhD, and Mark Zylka, PhD.

Each year the Office of Graduate Education recognizes faculty mentors affiliated with the Biological and Biomedical Sciences Program (BBSP) who embody innovative and student-centered training, and an excellence in mentoring graduate students. These faculty members are honored for their work through the Awards for Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring.

The following faculty have been selected as awardees for 2020-2021: Blossom Damania, PhD, Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Amy Gladfelter, PhD, professor of Biology, Brian Kuhlman, PhD, professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Karen Mohlke, PhD, professor of Genetics, Natasha Snider, PhD, assistant professor of Cell Biology & Physiology, and Mark Zylka, PhD, W.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Cell Biology & Physiology.

These six awardees were nominated by graduate students, postdocs, or alumni who felt their mentorship creates a supportive environment for trainee growth, clearly articulates expectations, values diversity and belonging, and facilitates trainee career development. Faculty colleagues of the nominees also submit letters of support.

The Awards for Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring exemplify faculty members who demonstrate high integrity and professionalism, show respect for trainees, provide opportunities to network both within the university and within the scientific field of interest to enable trainees to meet their goals, and demonstrate long-term commitment to supporting trainees beyond their training period in the lab.

View past awards recipients here.