Skip to main content

Matt Mauro, MD, has been named Interim Chair of the UNC School of Medicine’s Department of Surgery, effective August 23.

Matt Mauro, MD, will begin his tenure as interim chair of the UNC Department of Surgery effective August 23.

Mauro has an extensive record of academic and clinical leadership. He currently serves as President of UNC Faculty Physicians and Senior Executive, Revenue Cycle for UNC Health. Mauro served as Chair of the Department of Radiology from 2007 to 2019 and has been a member of the UNC School of Medicine faculty since 1982.  Mauro holds the James H. Scatliff Distinguished Professorship of Radiology and has a longstanding appointment as a Professor within the Department of Surgery.

As Interim Chair, Mauro will continue to advance the department’s work in clinical care, research, and education, which have all expanded significantly over the last several years.

“The Department of Surgery is a great strength for our medical center and system, providing the people of North Carolina with the very best surgical care, leading in research, and training the next generation of surgeons. I’m excited by the opportunity to work with the faculty of this department to continue their good work,” said Mauro.

Melina Kibbe, MD, who held the position of Colin G. Thomas Jr. Distinguished Professor and Chair since 2016, was recently named Dean of the University of Virginia School of Medicine and Chief Health Affairs Officer for UVA Health.  The search for the next Chair of Surgery will launch later this month.