Skip to main content

Nominations are now open for the Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Award. The annual award recognizes outstanding members of the Hospitals’ house staff for exemplary service, professional performance and compassionate patient care. Nominations are due by June 15.

The chiefs of the clinical dental, medical and surgical services at UNC Hospitals have established the House Officer Award to recognize outstanding members of the Hospitals’ house staff for exemplary service, professional performance, and compassionate patient care.

The Robert C. Cefalo, MD, House Officer Award recognizes members of the Hospitals’ Housestaff for their fulfilling the legacy of Dr. Cefalo.  Honorees embody the role model physician and demonstrate the following exceptional qualifications:

  • Exemplary clinical care,
  • Outstanding professionalism & leadership
  • Compassionate, empathetic care for patients, families, and the healthcare team.

The Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Awards are bestowed in memoriam of Dr. Robert C. Cefalo, M.D., Ph.D., FACOG, Professor Emeritus of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Assistant Dean, Head of the Office of Graduate Medical Education, Emeritus, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine.

Dr. Cefalo served UNC Chapel Hill for 25 years as director of the residency and fellowship programs at UNC Hospitals. Under his leadership in graduate medical education, UNC earned national recognition for the development of “best practices” in residency and fellowship programs and Dr. Cefalo served as a model for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) in defining the role of Designated Institutional Official. Under Dr. Cefalo’s leadership,

In addition to his exemplary leadership and service to graduate medical education, Dr. Cefalo was an outstanding clinician and physician leader, having served as President & Chairman of the American Board of Obstetrics & Gynecology, President of the North Carolina Obstetrical & Gynecological Society and was honored by the North Carolina Governor’s Commission for contributions to the improvement of maternal and infant health.

Most importantly, Dr. Cefalo was a mentor to and friend to countless members of the UNC family.  Dr. Cefalo passed away in 2008 after a battle with cancer. This award honors his memory and legacy.

Eligibility & Nomination Information

Nominations should illustrate how the resident or fellow demonstrates the award criteria in their practice of medicine, and what specific characteristics reflect the spirit of Dr. Cefalo’s example as an outstanding physician.

  • House officer must be in good standing with their clinical training program
  • Nominees may be at any PGY training year
  • Any attending physician, medical student or UNC Health Care employee may nominate any full-time house officer.
  • Nominations from multiple individuals/groups in support of a single nominee are acceptable.

Please send nominations to Stacey Qandil in the Office of Graduate Medical Education.

Nominations should include:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Nominee’s specialty and PGY level
  • Nominee’s email address
  • Nominator(s) name and title(s)
  • Nominator email address
  • Letter of Nomination
  • Additional letters of support from other trainees (current or former), program director, faculty, division chief, department chair and/or other healthcare team members (maximum of 5) are optional but encouraged

Nominations are due by June 15.

Expenditure of the Award

Up to 5 awards will be bestowed annually. Each honoree with be awarded with a $1000 stipend to offset expenses associated with professional development and/or attendance of scientific conferences or meetings that will enhance the recipient’s knowledge and abilities in the health care setting. The award may be used all at once or over time and may be reimbursed even after the trainee has graduated for up to 3 years.

Up to 5 awards will be bestowed annually.


A selection committee composed of physicians, nurses and other clinical and administrative staff evaluate nominations and recommend individuals for recognition to the Medical Staff Executive Committee.