Resnick and Derey Receive 2014 and 2015 Elaine M. Hill Award

Last week, Volunteer Services' 24th annual Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon honored Caroline Resnick and Bill Derey, the 2014 and 2015 Elaine M. Hill Award winners for Distinguished Volunteer Service.

Resnick and Derey Receive 2014 and 2015 Elaine M. Hill Award click to enlarge Bill Derey (Left) and Caroline Resnick (Right)

For more than 22 years, Caroline Resnick has been a hospital volunteer at UNC, working as a patient navigator in the ICU Waiting Room and coordinating weekly pediatric brunches. Last week she was awarded the 2014 Elaine M. Hill Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service at a ceremony that had been postponed last year due to the Epic@UNC Go-Live.

“I feel very honored to have received this award representing the incredible volunteers in the hospital,” says Resnick. “Volunteering at UNC Hospitals has become a part of the person I am today. Everyone here is like a family to me.”

The 2015 Elaine Hill Award was given to Bill Derey, volunteer in Cancer Hospital Registration. Derey, a retired letter carrier, wanted to give back to his community in his free time. Since 2011, he has contributed 1,500 hours as a volunteer.

“To have patients remember you and thank you for assisting them is truly humbling," says Derey. "I've been amazed how a small gesture can make an impact. That is why it is such an honor to win the Elaine M. Hill award. I am simply doing what all of our volunteers at UNC Health Care do on a daily basis: helping the patients as they enter the hospital doors every day.”

Elaine M. Hill, director of Volunteer Services from 1967 to 1990, began service at N.C. Memorial Hospital by serving refreshments at the hospital's opening in 1952. During her years of service, Hill exemplified quality patient care. She was instrumental in implementing the playroom for pediatric patients in the late 1950s, among other contributions. In recognition of her leadership, in 1990 the UNC Health Care Board of Directors approved naming the annual distinguished volunteer award in her honor.