Search for the AHEC Program Director and Executive Associate Dean

Dean Roper has appointed a committee to search for a new AHEC Program Director and Executive Associate Dean.

The Search Committee would like to extend an invitation to the entire faculty to communicate your thoughts regarding the search, and to present nominations to the committee.  We welcome you to share your ideas either in writing or verbally with any of the members listed below.  If you would like to schedule time with the committee as a whole, please contact Carol Edenton in the UNC School of Medicine Dean’s Office at 919-966-0598 or

Nominations of potential candidates should include the name, current position, and email address of each nominee.  Should you wish to be considered for the position, we will be pleased to accept your letter of interest, curriculum vitae, and names/addresses/email addresses/phone numbers of four or more people you choose for references via the following website: More information about the AHEC Program and the Search can be found here.

Please send correspondence to:

Dr. Warren Newton

Chairs, AHEC Program Director Search Committee

Office of the Dean, School of Medicine

University of North Carolina

CB# 7000, 4060 Bondurant Hall

Chapel Hill, N.C.  27599-7000

ATTN: Carol Edenton

UNC is an equal opportunity employer.

Members of the Search Committee

Warren Newton, Vice Dean for Education, Professor and Chair of Family Medicine; Committee Chair

Cedric Bright, Assistant Dean for Special Programs and Admissions at UNC School of Medicine

Wesley Burks, Professor and Chair of Pediatrics at UNC School of Medicine

Michael Coates, Professor and Chair of Family Medicine at Wake Forest School of Medicine

Paul Cunningham, Dean of Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University

Leah Devlin, Professor at UNC Gillings School of Public Health

Kevin FitzGerald, Chief of Staff at UNC Health Care and UNC School of Medicine

Mary Hall, AHEC Director and COO for Medical Education at Carolinas Medical Center

Ben Money, President & CEO of NC Community Health Center Association

Suzanne Ortega, Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs at UNC

Charlie Owen, Board Member: Mission Hospitals/Mountain AHEC and UNC Health Care

Ron Strauss, Associate Provost at UNC-Chapel Hill

Kristen Swanson, Dean of UNC School of Nursing

Marvin Swartz, Professor in Department of Psychiatry at Duke University Medical Center

Deborah Teasley, Director of Southern Regional AHEC

Filed under: