Search for Chair of the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology.

Dean Runge has appointed a committee to search for the Chair of the newly formed Cell Biology and Physiology Department.

The Search Committee is searching for an outstanding individual to provide academic and administrative leadership for the research and teaching programs of the newly formed Department of Cell Biology and Physiology. We are looking for a person who will strive to further develop and extend the already outstanding programs of teaching and research within the new department. We appreciate nominations of persons who you believe possess these characteristics.

Please send information to:

Dede Corvinus, PhD
Administrator, Cell Biology & Physiology Search Committee
c/o Office of Research
CB# 7000, G060 Bondurant
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, N.C. 27599-7000


The Search Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations as well as any specific comments you may wish to make about the search or the future needs of the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology. Should you wish to be considered for the position, we will be pleased to accept your detailed curriculum vitae, description of administrative experience, research goals and teaching interests via the following website: The University is an equal opportunity employer and women and members of under-represented minority groups are especially encouraged to apply.

Members of the Search Committee

Cam Enarson, MD (                
Vice Dean for Finance & Administration

Vickie Bautch, PhD (                          
Professor, Biology

Steve Crews, PhD (                           
Professor, Biochemistry & Biophysics

Henrik Dohlman, PhD (   
Professor, Biochemistry & Biophysics
Co-Chair of Search Committee

Shawn Gomez, PhD (                             
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Gary Johnson, PhD (               
Professor and Chair, Pharmacology

Karen Mohlke, PhD (            
Associate Professor, Genetics

David Peden, MD (                 
Professor and Division Chief, Pediatrics
Co-Chair of Search Committee

Bill Powers, MD (                 
Professor & Chair, Neurology

Joan Taylor, PhD (                
Associate Professor, Pathology & Lab. Med.

Yue Xiong, PhD (                             
Professor, Biochemistry & Biophysics

Click here to read the memo.