New Department of Urology established

Raj Pruthi, MD, is the new chair of the department, which became operational on July 1, 2013. The proposed School of Medicine constitutional amendment to create the department was approved by the faculty in May.

The Office of the Provost at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill approved the establishment of the Department of Urology in the UNC School of Medicine on June 21, 2013. The creation of the new Department of Urology will serve to enhance and expand UNC’s commitment to clinical care, education, and research for the people of North Carolina and throughout the country.

In 1952, Dr. Paul Bunce was recruited to become the sixth member of the Department of Surgery and to establish a Division of Urologic Surgery. In 1970, Dr. Bunce was succeeded by Dr. Floyd Fried who developed subspecialty interests and expanded educational programs within urology at UNC. In 1993, Dr. Culley Carson became the third Division Chief of Urology and ushered in an era in which UNC gained national repute for clinical and research work.

In 2011, Dr. Raj Pruthi succeeded Dr. Carson and helped to expand the clinical, education, and research efforts in an increasingly complex environment involving rapidly changing technology and health care policy. With a clinical program of over 20 providers and specialized programs in urologic oncology, robotics, stone disease, and men’s health, the Dean and leadership team of the School of Medicine created a new Department of Urology with Dr. Pruthi serving as the inaugural Chair.

The Department of Urology is committed to providing outstanding and innovative clinical care to the people of North Carolina, the Southeast, and throughout the United States.  The Department will extend its patient care activities beyond its Chapel Hill campus with facilities and collaborations in Hillsborough, Alamance, Chatham, and Wake Counties amongst others. The department has assembled a team of talented and caring clinicians, scientists, educators, and healthcare professionals dedicated to innovation, education, quality, and cutting edge clinical care.

Drs. Bunce, Fried, and Carson established the basic philosophy of UNC Urology that drives us to this day: dedication to clinical teaching and patient care with an emphasis on creative thinking and innovation.