Cairns receives John Marx Leadership Award

Charles B. Cairns, MD, professor and chair of emergency medicine, was awarded the 2014 John Marx Leadership Award of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Cairns receives John Marx Leadership Award click to enlarge Dr. Charles Cairns

For 25 years, Dr. Cairns has been a clinician, educator, investigator and leader in emergency care. His efforts focused on optimization of the host responses of individual patients and populations to acute medical conditions. His work shaped emergency patient care for infection, ischemia, injury and resuscitation, as well as improved emergency preparedness at health systems and at the local, state and national levels. Dr. Cairns’s remarkable record of leadership and academic achievement in emergency medicine advanced the growth and impact of emergency medicine on regional, national and international levels.  

Dr. Cairns served in national leadership roles in prominent emergency medicine organizations, including the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) Program Chair, the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) Research Committee Chair and the Emergency Medicine Foundation (EMF) Board of Trustees. He also served on the editorial boards of Academic Emergency Medicine and the Annals of Emergency Medicine. In addition, Dr. Cairns played critical leadership roles as a Co-Chair of the NIH Roundtables on Emergency Research and as Co-Chair of the SAEM-ACEP Research Working Group, which directly supported the establishment of the newly formed NIH Office of Emergency Care Research.

Dr. Cairns published more than 150 scientific manuscripts and reviews and is the Co-Editor of the recently published ACEP text Emergency Care Research: A Primer, intended for students, graduate trainees and junior faculty.

Dr. Cairns’s extraordinary record of extramural grant funding includes more than $20 million awarded during the past five years alone. He is Principal Investigator on grants from the NIH, U.S. Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (HHS/ASPR), the National Quality Forum (NQF), and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS/OHA/NBIC).  He also serves as Associate Director of the U.S. Critical Illness and Injury Trials Group, which received more than $30 million in funding and enrolled more than 10,000 patients in emergency and critical care studies. Dr. Cairns received numerous national honors and awards for his academic work, including the EMF Established Investigator Award, SAEM Best Scientific Presentation Awards and the ACEP Outstanding Contribution in Research Award. He has been elected to both the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and the Sigma Xi scientific research honor society.  He is a fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians and the American Heart Association.

It is fitting that Dr. Cairns receives the John Marx Leadership Award at the 25th SAEM Annual Meeting. With the support of Dr. John Marx, Dr. Cairns founded the SAEM Western Regional Meeting in 1993 to serve the needs of junior investigators, the format of which became the template for subsequent SAEM Regional meetings in 1997. Dr. Cairns has personally mentored 21 medical and graduate students, 16 residents and 16 post-doctoral and clinical fellows in EM research during his time on faculty at Harbor-UCLA, Colorado, Duke and UNC. Dr. Cairns had his own group’s research presented at every single SAEM annual meeting since its founding in 1989.

This article was written by Dr. Jane Brice.

Filed under: ,