Recapping the 2015 Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Awards Presentation

The Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Awards are presented to residents who both demonstrate sincere dedication to patients and their families and maintain exemplary professional and interpersonal interactions with colleagues, staff, patients and visitors. This year, six outstanding physicians were honored.

The 2015 ceremony marked the eighth year that the award has been named in honor of Robert Cefalo, MD, PhD, who passed away in 2008 after a battle with cancer. Cefalo served with distinction for 25 years as director of the residency and fellowship programs at UNC Hospitals. He served as a model for the American Council on Graduate Medical Education in defining the position of Designated Institutional Official. Under Cefalo’s leadership, UNC earned national recognition for the development of best practices in residency and fellowship programs. Congratulations to the following winners of the 2015 Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Award: