Search Committee seeks chair for Department of Surgery

Wesley Burks, MD, Executive Dean, UNC School of Medicine is announcing the appointment of a search committee seeking a Chair for the Department of Surgery. Tony Meyer, MD, PhD, will be stepping down from his administrative role as Chair of the Department of Surgery when the search is completed, but will remain as a valued member of the faculty. He provided invaluable leadership in his 14 years as Chair. Read a memo from Burks with more information.

Date: April 9, 2015

To: Faculty, UNC School of Medicine

From: Wesley Burks, Executive Dean, SOM

RE: Search for Chair, Department of Surgery

Dean Roper and I have appointed a committee to search for the Chair of the Department of Surgery, to be led by Lisa Carey, Professor and Division Chief of Hematology/Oncology.

The Search Committee is searching for a well-qualified academic leader to serve as Chair of the Department of Surgery; someone who will provide academic and administrative leadership for the clinical and research programs, and will strive to further develop and extend the current outstanding programs of teaching and research within the department. We appreciate nominations of persons who you believe possess these characteristics.

Please send information to:

Lisa Carey, MD

Chair, Department of Surgery Chair Search Committee

Office of the Dean, School of Medicine

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4060 Bondurant Hall

Campus Box 7000

Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599-7000

ATTN:  Elizabeth Gorsuch

The Search Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations, as well as, any specific comments you may wish to make about the search of the future needs of the Department of Surgery. Should you wish to be considered for the position, we will be pleased to accept your current curriculum vitae, description of clinical experience, research goals and teaching interests. The University is an equal opportunity employer and women and individuals identifying as underrepresented in medicine are strongly encouraged to apply.

Members of the Search Committee:

Lisa Carey, Department of Medicine and Search Committee Chair

Ada Adimora, Department of Medicine 

Kevin Biese, Department of Emergency Medicine

Craig Buchman, Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery

Linda Butler, Chief Medicine Officer, Rex Hospital

Karon Dawkins, Department of Psychiatry

Shelley Earp, Department of Medicine

Brian Goldstein, COO, UNC Hospitals

Kevin Kelly, Department of Pediatrics

Susan Maygarden, Department of Pathology

Wanda Nicholson, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Carol Otey, Department of Cell Biology & Physiology

Cristy Page, Department of Family Medicine

Keith Smith, Department of Radiology

Bill Snider, Neuroscience Center

Filed under: