Search Committee seeks chair for Department of Pharmacology

Gary Johnson, PhD, will be stepping down from his administrative role as Chair of the Department of Pharmacology when the search is completed. Dr. Johnson has provided invaluable leadership of the Department in his 12 years as Chair. Under his guidance, the Department was rated as the #3 Pharmacology and Toxicology program in the world in the 2014 U.S. News & World Report’s Best Global Universities. It also rates as #4 in the country in NIH funding. Johnson will remain on faculty and continue with his internationally-recognized research work in signaling networks control of cell function and disease. It was recently announced that Johnson, along with others from UNC Lineberger and counterparts from eight other leading cancer research institutions, won a five-year, $12 million grant to find treatments for a group of cancers linked to mutations in the NF1 gene.

Date: October 1, 2015

To: Faculty, UNC School of Medicine

From: Wesley Burks, Executive Dean, SOM

RE: Search for Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Dean Roper and I have appointed a search committee for the Chair of the Department of Pharmacology, to be led by Kathleen Caron, PhD, Chair of Cell Biology and Physiology.

 The Search Committee seeks a well-qualified academic leader to serve as Chair of the Department of Pharmacology; someone who will provide academic and administrative leadership and will strive to further develop and extend the current outstanding programs of teaching and research within the department. Please send nominations and applications to:


Kathleen Caron, PhD

Chair, Department of Pharmacology Chair Search Committee

Office of the Dean, School of Medicine

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4060 Bondurant Hall

Campus Box 7000

Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599-7000

ATTN:  Elizabeth Gorsuch


The Search Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations, as well as comments you may wish to make of the future needs of the Department of Pharmacology. Should you wish to be considered for the position, we will be pleased to accept your current curriculum vitae, description of clinical experience, research goals and teaching interests.

 The University is an equal opportunity employer and women and individuals identifying as underrepresented in medicine are strongly encouraged to apply.


Members of the Search Committee:

Kathleen Caron, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology and Search Committee Chair

Carey Anders, Department of Medicine

Jonathan Berg – Department of Genetics

Kim Brouwer – School of Pharmacy

Shelley Earp – Department of Medicine

Victor Garcia – Department of Medicine

Shawn Gomez – Department of Biomedical Engineering

Saskia Neher – Department of Biochemistry

Bill Snider – Department of Neurosciences

Maureen Su – Department of Pediatrics

Joan Taylor - Department of Pathology

Filed under: