Dittmer selected as American Academy of Microbiology Fellow

Dirk Dittmer, PhD, professor of microbiology and immunology, was selected as one of the American Academy of Microbiology’s 2016 Fellows.

Dittmer selected as American Academy of Microbiology Fellow click to enlarge Dirk Dittmer, PhD, professor of microbiology and immunology

The American Academy of Microbiology (AAM) is the honorific leadership organization the American Society for Microbiology, the oldest and largest life science organization in the world. The mission of the Academy is to recognize scientific excellence, as well as foster knowledge and understanding in the microbiological sciences. 

“I am very excited to have been selected as an AAM fellow,” said Dittmer. “Recognition by one’s peers is perhaps among the most important drivers of scientific progress and the community of scientists. I am proud that my peers find my contributions useful. Understanding basic mechanisms of microbiology – in my case virology – is as important today as it always was, perhaps even more so as new viruses seem to be emerging more and more frequently.”

Dittmer’s research is focused on understanding cancers known to be associated with viral infections – especially Kaposi’s sarcoma and viral lymphoma – and searching for new cancer-associated viruses.  He is a member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and co-director of the Lineberger Global Oncology Program.

AAM Fellows are elected through a selective annual peer review process. Selection as an AAM Fellow recognizes a researcher’s scientific achievements and the contributions they have made in the advancement of microbiology. The 2016 AAM Fellows include researchers from the US, Canada, Spain, India, France, Australia, China and the United Kingdom

In addition to Dittmer, Melissa Miller, PhD, director of UNC’s Molecular Microbiology Laboratory, and J. Victor Garcia, PhD, professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, were also selected as 2016 AAM Fellows.

Dittmer, Miller and Garcia will be recognized at the Academy Fellows Reception at the ASM Microbe meeting in Boston on June 17.