Medical Honor Society Alpha Omega Alpha Inducts New Members

Three internal medicine residents have been inducted into the medical honor society, Alpha Omega Alpha.

Medical Honor Society Alpha Omega Alpha Inducts New Members click to enlarge Muddasir Ayaz, Arun Kannappan and Justin Vandermolen have been elected to the AOA Medical Honor Society.

Muddasir Ayaz, MD, Arun Kannappan, MD, and Justin Vandermolen, MD, have been elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Medical Honor Society.  Students recently submitted nominations for housestaff, alumni and faculty who embody the values of AOA including scholarship, research, altruism, dedication to serving others, and leadership.

Nominations for Muddasir recognized his “intelligence and compassion, always encouraging others to consider the intersection of medicine and society."

Nominations for Arun described him as an “excellent teacher and clinician, always practicing with the utmost professionalism and integrity, positively influencing the culture of medicine and lifting up those around him.”

Nominations for Justin described an “incredibly smart resident, always eager to teach students, and genuinely kind to patients, an excellent representative of the medical profession as well as UNC."

The AOA was founded in 1902. The society's mission is dedicated to improving care in the profession of medicine. Election to AOA is a prestigious accomplishment, signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service. Membership in the society is a lifelong honor and confers recognition for a physician's dedication to the profession and art of healing.

Filed under: