Skip to main content

Since 2018, the Infection Prevention department has bestowed our ‘Friends of Epidemiology’ awards to honor exceptional UNC Medical Center employees in other departments who are not only exceptional in their work for their department but without whom we would not be as successful in Infection Prevention.

Congratulations to our 2021 Friends of Epidemiology!

Dr. Kevin Alby, Clinical Microbiology Lab

Turkeisha Brown, Nurse Manager 6 Bedtower/COVID containment floor

Tracy Carroll, Nursing Director for Heart and Vascular and Interim Director for Medicine/Oncology

Loc Culp, Nurse Manager for Medicine ICU/COVID containment ICU

Dr. Joe Eron, Adult ID Division Chief

Dr. Zach Willis, Peds ID, Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program



Previous awardees are listed below


Mike Jones (Plant Engineering)

Gary Hampton (Plant Engineering)

Dr. Georgette Dent (UNC SoM)

Dr. Thomas Belhorn (Peds ID)

Nataliya Shuchalina (ISD)

Dr. Peter Gilligan (Microbiology)



Lindsay Daniels (ASP Pharmacy)

Ashley Marx (ASP Pharmacy)

Melissa Jones (“MJ”) (Microbiology)

Ashley Mitchell (Value Analysis, Supply Chain)

Diane Thomas (ISD)

David Williams (OHS)



Danielle Anderson (4ONC)

Jacci Harden Jacobs (Nursing)

Dr. Melissa Miller (Clinical Microbiology)

Dr. Erica Pettigrew (OHS and Orange County Health Dept)

Andrea Reed (ISD, Epic)