Academy of Educators honors 16 faculty award recipients, inducts 117 new members

On May 23, 2019, the Academy of Educators at the UNC School of Medicine welcomed over 200 faculty, staff, and residents to the 2019 Alan W. Cross Evening of Scholarship.

On May 23, 2019, the Academy of Educators at the UNC School of Medicine welcomed over 200 faculty, staff, and residents to the 2019 Alan W. Cross Evening of Scholarship.  At the banquet, 117 new members were inducted into the Academy, and 16 faculty were honored with Teaching Awards. See below for a listing of the award recipients. A listing of the faculty inducted at this year’s event is available upon request. 

Also announced were the 2019 Kathleen Rao Education Scholarship Grant recipients, Drs. Laurence Katz, Gary Burke, Gary Beck Dallaghan, Tracy DeSelm, Joseph Fisher, and Aaron Schott. They will receive $7,000 over this next year to support their project: “A New Approach to Teaching Medical Students Procedural Skills.” They will be using a Cadaver Procedural Skills Lab to teach medical students how to perform lumbar punctures and to insert pigtail and intraosseous catheters. Using a randomized controlled trial design, they will assess how this teaching forum and refresher training affect competency in these procedural skills.

The Academy also welcomed Dr. H. Barrett Fromme, Professor of Pediatrics and pediatric hospitalist at the

academy of edc_fromme
H. Barrett Fromme, MD
University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, where she is the Director of Pediatric Hospital Medicine. She has served in both undergraduate and graduate medical education roles throughout her career, and she obtained a Master in Health Professions Education in 2009. Dr. Fromme is the Director of Faculty Development in Medical Education at the University of Chicago, while also holding numerous leadership roles in the development of medical educators across the UME, GME, and CME continuum at local and national levels. For the past six years, she has led and taught in the Advancing Pediatric Educator eXcellence (APEX) Teaching Program for pediatric hospitalists, which has garnered several national awards. Dr. Fromme led an outstanding and engaging talk on Faculty Vitality. 

2019 Teaching Award Recipients

Clinical Preceptor Excellence in Teaching Award (Off-Campus Faculty) – Drs. Narges Farahi (Family Medicine), Krystle Graham (Psychiatry), Paul Rogers (Emergency Medicine), and Brian Scannell (Orthopaedics)

Clinical Preceptor Excellence in Teaching Award (UNC Hospitals) – Dr. Thelsa Weickert (Medicine)academy_edc_2

Foundation Phase Teaching Excellence Awards – Drs. Keisha Gibson (Medicine and Pediatrics) and Koyal Jain (Medicine)

Innovation in Teaching Award – Drs. Kathy Meacham (Social Medicine) and Ira Sloan (Psychiatry)

Junior Faculty Award – Dr. Lisa Rose-Jones (Medicine)

Medical Student Advisor – Dr. Timothy Platts-Mills (Emergency Medicine)

Scholarship Award – Dr. Ellen Roberts (Medicine)

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education – Dr. Daniel Clarke-Pearson (Obstetrics and Gynecology)

Medical Alumni Distinguished Professorship – Drs. Lindsay Wilson (Medicine) and Sheryl Gillikin Jordan (Radiology)

Medical Alumni Loyalty Fund Teaching Award – Dr. Peadar Noone (Medicine)

More information on the awards can be found here.

Contact Morgan Resnick-Kahle at with questions.

Filed under: