Skip to main content

On August 28, 2019, the Teaching Scholars Program graduated 14 faculty from the year-long program. At the ceremony, the Scholars presented their scholarly work, on a variety of topics, aimed to enhance the medical education environment at the School of Medicine.

The Teaching Scholars Program, directed by Dr. Anna Marie Connolly since 2001 and housed within the Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development, aims to promote teaching expertise in medical education. Through the program, participants develop skills in teaching and assessment of learners, and become familiar with issues in contemporary medical education. Graduation from the program confers recognition as a scholar in medical education and provides the School of Medicine with a resource of talent in education.

Congratulations to our 2018-19 Cohort of Graduates!

James Alb, PhD (Cell Biology & Physiology)
Michael Contarino, MD (Medicine – Internal Medicine & Pediatrics)
Meredith Gilliam, MD, MPH (Medicine – Geriatrics)
Jason Hrdina, MPAS, MPH, EM PA-C (Allied Health Sciences)
Margaret Kihlstrom, MD (Pediatrics & Anesthesiology)
Amy Liu, MD, MPH (Pediatrics)
Craig Reed, MD, MSCR (Medicine – Gastroenterology)
Alfredo Rivadeneira, MD (Medicine – Rheumatology)
Aaron Schott, MD (Emergency Medicine)
Pablo Serrano, MD (Surgery)
Kathryn Sorenson, OTD, MA (Allied Health Sciences)
Emily Sturkie, MD (Medicine – Hospital Medicine)
Marcella Willis-Gray, MD (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
Carolyn Ziemer, MD, MPH (Dermatology)

Contact Morgan Resnick-Kahle at to express future interest in the program.