Skip to main content

In August 26, 2020, the Teaching Scholars Program graduated twelve faculty from the year-long program. At the ceremony, the Scholars presented their scholarly work on a variety of topics aimed to enhance the medical education environment at the School of Medicine. The program also welcomes 22 new scholars for the 2020-21 cohort.

Congratulations to our 2020-21 cohort!

The Teaching Scholars Program, directed by Dr. AnnaMarie Connolly since 2001, aims to promote teaching expertise in medical education. Through the program, participants develop skills in teaching and assessment of learners, and become familiar with issues in contemporary medical education. Graduation from the program confers recognition as a scholar in medical education and provides the School of Medicine with a resource of talent in education.

Congratulations to our 2019-20 cohort of graduates!

Ben Blomberg, MD (Medicine – Geriatrics)
Donald Caraccio, MD (Medicine – Endocrinology)
Matt Coward, MD (Urology)
Chris Howard, MD (Anesthesiology)
Morgan Jones, MD (Medicine – Endocrinology)
Winston Li, MD (Psychiatry)
Julie Mervak, MD (Dermatology)
Jes Morse, MD (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
Kim Nichols, MD (Anesthesiology)
Jorge Oldan, MD (Radiology)
Hannah Siburt, AuD (Allied Health Sciences)
Karla Thomas, PhD (Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation)

We also welcome 22 new Teaching Scholars that make up the 2020-21 cohort. This is the largest Teaching Scholars cohort in the history of the program (pictured left to right).

Katie Hanlon, MMS, PA-C (Allied Health Sciences)
Rita Lahlou, MD (Family Medicine)
Noor Abu-Alnadi, MD (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
Eddie Yap, MD (Neurosurgery)
Yael Shiloh-Malawsky, MD (Neurology)
Howard Choi, MD (Emergency Medicine)
Casey Gazda, MD (Internal Medicine)
Kristen Scherrer, PhD (Cell Biology and Physiology)
Maglin Halsey-Nichols, MD (Emergency Medicine)
Galen Foulke, MD (Dermatology)
Dana Doctor, MD (Psychiatry)
Leslie Clark, MD (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
Jenna Beckham, MD (WakeMed – Obstetrics and Gynecology)
Alison Sweeney, MD (Pediatrics)
Dimitri Trembath, MD, PhD (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine)
Kris Karvelas, MD (Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation)
Amanda O’Briant, CNM, WHNP (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
Carolyn Quinsey, MD (Neurosurgery)
Kunal Patel, MD, PhD (Medicine – Pulmonary Diseases and Critical Care Medicine )
Christine DeMason, MD (Otolaryngology)
Ben Smith, MD (Radiology)
Anne West-Honart, MD (Obstetrics and Gynecology)