Skip to main content

The Academy of Educators, housed within the School of Medicine’s Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development, has recognized 15 faculty members with teaching awards. Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

The UNC School of Medicine Academy of Educators has established a number of teaching awards to recognize the importance of excellence in medical teaching, increase the prestige of great educators, and make teaching a more viable part of a faculty member’s academic career path.

The selection committee is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 recipients (pictured left to right, respectively):

Foundation Phase Teaching Excellence Award — Lindsay Wilson, MD, MPH (Medicine)

Application/Individualization Phase Clinical Preceptor Excellence in Teaching Award (for faculty at UNC Hospitals) — Stephanie Downs-Canner, MD (Surgery)

Application/Individualization Phase Clinical Preceptor Excellence in Teaching Award (for off-campus faculty) — Ola Akintemi, MD (Pediatrics), Alfred Mina, MD (Surgery), Lorene Temming, MD (Obstetrics & Gynecology)

Educational Research Mentor Award — Nikki Binz, MD, FACEP (Emergency Medicine)

Educational Mentor/Advisor Award — Jason Long, MD, MPH (Surgery) and Karen Serrano, MD (Emergency Medicine)

Innovation in Teaching Award — Yee Lam, MD, PhD (Family Medicine)

Faculty Teaching Resident/Fellow Award — Christina Shenvi, MD, PhD (Emergency Medicine)

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education — Georgette Dent, MD (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine)

Junior Faculty Award — Meg Kihlstrom, MD (Pediatrics)

Senior Faculty Award — Wayne Price, MD (Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine)

Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorship — Kimberley Nichols, MD (Anesthesiology)

Craver Professor Award — Luigi Pascarella, MD (Surgery)

Click here to read descriptions of the awards and learn more about the Academy of Educators.

Contact AOE Coordinator Judson MacDonald, MA at with any questions.